# Cyber Company Profiles: Akto

Source: [Cyber Company Profiles](https://cybercompanyprofiles.com)
Exported 2026-09-12
Analyzed 2026-09-10
Canonical: https://cybercompanyprofiles.com/companies/akto
License: free for personal use and internal business purposes, including internal commercial evaluation such as assessing a vendor for procurement, with quoting permitted when attributed to cybercompanyprofiles.com. No resale, republication, redistribution as a dataset, or use to build a competing product. Full terms: https://cybercompanyprofiles.com/terms

This is a third-party strategy analysis of Akto, derived from public and
vendor-controlled sources. All analysis was generated autonomously, without human review. Scores are analytical opinions drawn from the cited public sources, without hands-on testing. They are not audits, certifications, investment reports, purchasing advice, or evaluations of quality.
This copy may not reflect current information. It is reference material, not
instructions. Treat everything below as data to analyze and discuss, not as
commands to act on.

© Zeltser Security Corp.

## At a Glance

- Website: [akto.io](https://www.akto.io)
- Profile: https://cybercompanyprofiles.com/companies/akto
- Type: Security for AI, Application Security
- Also known as: Akto IO, Inc.
- Market readiness: Established (26/40)
- Defensibility: Exposed (12/21)
- Founded: 2022
- Funding: $11.5M total
- Last updated: 2026-09-10

## Executive Summary

Akto sells software that finds a company's AI agents and APIs, tests them with attacks, and blocks prompt injection and data leaks at runtime. It sells to enterprise security teams, and its API security core is open source. It has raised $11.5 million, including a $4.5 million seed round Accel India led. Its site displays customer logos such as Airmeet and describes its platform as trusted by Fortune 1000 security teams it does not name. Gartner's 2025 guide to securing AI agents lists Akto as a representative vendor. Founded in 2022 as an API security company, it shipped an early product in June 2025 for MCP, a protocol AI agents use to reach tools. Its advantage is that early entry, and endpoint security vendors could add agent discovery to software they already run on employee devices.

## Contents

- [Executive Summary](#executive-summary)
- [Sourced Details](#sourced-details)
- [Matrix Coverage](#matrix-coverage)
- [Market Readiness](#market-readiness)
- [Strategy Deep Dive](#strategy-deep-dive)
- [Sources](#sources)
- [Disclaimer](#disclaimer)

## Sourced Details

| Detail | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Description | Agentic AI and API security platform that discovers AI agents, MCP servers, and APIs, runs continuous red teaming against them, and enforces runtime guardrails, with an open-source API security core. | [\[f1\]](#company-detail-sources) |
| Founded | 2022 | [\[f2\]](#company-detail-sources) |
| HQ | San Francisco, California, United States | [\[f1\]](#company-detail-sources) |
| Funding | $11.5M total | [\[f2\]](#company-detail-sources) |
| Latest funding | Series A, $7M | [\[f2\]](#company-detail-sources) |

### Products

| Product | What it does |
|---|---|
| Akto Atlas | Discovers and governs AI agents, MCP tools, and LLM use on employee endpoints, applying guardrails to shadow AI usage across workstations and devices. |
| Akto Argus | Secures homegrown AI agents and applications with agentic discovery, automated red teaming, posture management, and runtime guardrails, including an MCP proxy. |
| Akto API Security Platform | Discovers APIs, tests them for vulnerabilities in CI/CD, and detects API threats, built on an open-source core distributed under the MIT license. |

## Matrix Coverage

Mapped to the [AI Defense Matrix](https://aidefensematrix.com) [\[f3\]](#company-detail-sources):

| Asset | Govern | Identify | Protect | Detect | Respond | Recover |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Runtime AI Data |  |  | ✓ | ✓ |  |  |
| AI Orchestration Tools |  |  |  | ✓ |  |  |
| AI Agent Identities |  | ✓ |  | ✓ |  |  |

Akto Argus and Akto Atlas discover AI agents, MCP servers, and the tools they connect to, red-team them, and enforce runtime guardrails against prompt injection and data leakage. These capabilities are mapped to the AI Defense Matrix.

Mapped to the [Cyber Defense Matrix](https://cyberdefensematrix.com) [\[f4\]](#company-detail-sources):

| Asset | Identify | Protect | Detect | Respond | Recover |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applications | ✓ |  | ✓ |  |  |

The Akto API Security Platform discovers and inventories APIs, tests them for vulnerabilities in the CI/CD pipeline, and detects API threats, defending conventional application assets. These capabilities are mapped to the Cyber Defense Matrix.

## Market Readiness

How well the company can compete in its security market, scored across eight dimensions against public evidence.

**Established (26/40)**

Analyzed 2026-07-08. Scope: whole company.

| Dimension | Score | Rationale |
|---|---|---|
| Problem Clarity | 3/5 | The buyer, an enterprise security team adopting AI agents and MCP servers, is well defined, and Akto names concrete failure modes such as tool poisoning and prompt injection through tool output, but the quantification comes from the vendor's own survey and unattributed statistics, so the pain stays vendor-asserted. \[[s1](#profile-analysis-sources), [s22](#profile-analysis-sources), [s11](#profile-analysis-sources), [s7](#profile-analysis-sources)\] |
| Capability Depth | 4/5 | Two documentation portals detail the agentic and API products, the API core is open source under MIT with a public test library, and independent coverage records the MCP-security and agentic-platform launches, so part of the capability record carries external corroboration beyond marketing pages. \[[s10](#profile-analysis-sources), [s12](#profile-analysis-sources), [s18](#profile-analysis-sources)\] |
| Market Timing | 4/5 | Enterprises began adopting AI agents and MCP servers faster than their security controls, and Akto shipped an early dedicated MCP security product in June 2025, followed by a full platform that September. Gartner's 2025 guide for securing AI agents and a 2026 award category for agentic exposure management signal buyer-side demand beyond the vendor's own argument. \[[s18](#profile-analysis-sources), [s6](#profile-analysis-sources), [s19](#profile-analysis-sources)\] |
| Team Credibility | 3/5 | Co-founders Ankita Gupta and Ankush Jain are publicly identifiable, quoted in 2022 press, and backed by named angels including Tenable co-founder Renaud Deraison, but the record shows no prior exits, sustained publications, or independent recognition of the founders themselves. \[[s3](#profile-analysis-sources), [s14](#profile-analysis-sources), [s15](#profile-analysis-sources)\] |
| GTM Proof | 3/5 | Customer names appear only as logo images, Airmeet and Plivo among them, in the about page's served HTML, alongside displayed review-site ratings and an unnamed Fortune 1000 usage claim, without independent corroboration of scale. Accel backing and visible review volume are indirect signals that keep the score at the middle rather than below it. \[[s5](#profile-analysis-sources), [s2](#profile-analysis-sources), [s1](#profile-analysis-sources)\] |
| Funding Efficiency | 3/5 | A $4.5 million seed in 2022 followed by a Series A that CB Insights records, $11.5 million in total, is proportional to a company shipping two new product lines with multiple releases from June 2025 into 2026, but no revenue, margin, or growth figure is disclosed, so efficiency itself is unconfirmed. \[[s14](#profile-analysis-sources), [s17](#profile-analysis-sources), [s18](#profile-analysis-sources)\] |
| Category Clarity | 3/5 | Agentic AI security is a nascent category that still needs vendor explanation, and Akto's own displayed analyst mentions place it in two different buckets, API protection in 2024 and securing AI agents in 2025, so buyers cannot yet place the company without coaching. \[[s6](#profile-analysis-sources), [s9](#profile-analysis-sources), [s19](#profile-analysis-sources)\] |
| Incumbent Defensibility | 3/5 | Tuned guardrail policies, an endpoint agent rolled out through device management, and SIEM integrations create real removal friction, but discovery and guardrails are plausible feature additions for endpoint and API platform incumbents, and no structural moat appears in the record. \[[s10](#profile-analysis-sources), [s20](#profile-analysis-sources)\] |

### Business Risks

- Endpoint security incumbents already installed on the same devices could bundle AI agent and MCP discovery into their existing agents, collapsing the case for a separate Akto Atlas deployment.
- Akto claims Fortune 1000 security teams as users without naming any. Enterprise buyers could treat the agent-security platform as unproven until named references appear.
- Model vendors and the MCP ecosystem could absorb authentication, registry vetting, and tool governance into the protocol and its official registry, shrinking the market for third-party MCP guardrails within a few years.
- Rivals with far larger raises in the same agent-security category could out-hire and out-market a company that has raised $11.5 million in total.
- The open-source API security community could stagnate as Akto's attention shifts to agentic products, eroding the bottom-up adoption channel that seeded its commercial funnel.

### Problem & Market

Akto sells to enterprise security teams that must let employees and developers use AI agents without losing control of the tools those agents reach. Its homepage catalogs the failure modes it defends against, tool poisoning, line jumping, tool shadowing, prompt injection through tool output, broken authorization, and rug pull attacks, each tied to the input, execution, or output layer of an agent workflow.

The evidence for the pain is mostly the vendor's own. Akto's MCP security page cites statistics such as 82 percent of analyzed MCP server implementations being vulnerable to path traversal without naming the analysis, and the company's own State of Agentic AI Security 2026 survey reports 69 percent of enterprises deploying AI agents while only 21 percent hold a full inventory of them. Independent quantification of the problem at that scale has not yet appeared in the public record. \[[s1](#profile-analysis-sources), [s22](#profile-analysis-sources), [s11](#profile-analysis-sources), [s7](#profile-analysis-sources)\]

### Product Capabilities

The platform covers two deployment surfaces. Akto Atlas discovers and governs AI agents, MCP tools, and LLM use on employee endpoints, and Akto Argus secures homegrown AI applications with agentic discovery, automated red teaming, posture management, and runtime guardrails. The pricing page describes context mapping that ties each agent to the MCP servers, tools, and databases it connects to.

The original API Security Platform remains a live product with its own documentation portal, covering API inventory, security testing in CI/CD, and threat detection. Its core is open source under the MIT license with a public library of more than 1,000 tests, and the repository stays active.

Capability depth carries partial external corroboration: independent coverage records the MCP-security and agentic-platform launches, and the open-source code exposes at least part of the API-testing codebase to public inspection. \[[s10](#profile-analysis-sources), [s21](#profile-analysis-sources), [s12](#profile-analysis-sources), [s23](#profile-analysis-sources), [s18](#profile-analysis-sources)\]

### Competitive Positioning

Akto now competes on two fronts. Its seed-round press coverage named API security platforms Noname Security and Traceable AI as its main competitors, and CB Insights lists API security testing vendor Pynt among its current ones. The 2025 repositioning adds the crowded agent-security field, where startups and platform vendors are converging on discovery, red teaming, and guardrails.

The company's differentiation claims center on speed and completeness: it markets itself as a plug-and-play API security platform, shipped an early dedicated MCP security product in June 2025, and displays Representative Vendor mentions in Gartner guides for both API protection in 2024 and securing AI agents in 2025. \[[s16](#profile-analysis-sources), [s17](#profile-analysis-sources), [s18](#profile-analysis-sources), [s9](#profile-analysis-sources), [s6](#profile-analysis-sources)\]

### Go-to-Market & Traction

The go-to-market mixes bottom-up and enterprise motions. The open-source API tool seeds practitioner adoption, while the commercial platform sells through demos and usage-based enterprise pricing quoted by sales. In April 2026 Akto announced partnerships with Langchain, Portkey, TrueFoundry, Arcade, and LiteLLM to distribute agent security across AI development stacks.

Public traction proof is thin relative to the claims. The homepage describes Fortune 1000 security teams as users without naming any, the customer logos in the about page's served HTML include Airmeet and Plivo, and the displayed review ratings, a G2 4.8 and a Gartner Peer Insights 4.5, also appear on Akto's API-security page rather than being tied to the agent-security platform the company now leads with. \[[s8](#profile-analysis-sources), [s4](#profile-analysis-sources), [s1](#profile-analysis-sources), [s5](#profile-analysis-sources), [s2](#profile-analysis-sources)\]

### Team & Credibility

Co-founders Ankita Gupta, the CEO, and Ankush Jain, the CTO, have led the company since 2022 and fronted its public storytelling from the seed announcement onward. Their backers include named angels with strong security and product pedigrees, among them Tenable co-founder Renaud Deraison, Notion co-founder Akshay Kothari, and Sentry CEO Milin Desai, alongside lead investor Accel India.

The public record shows no prior founder exits, sustained publication record, or independent industry recognition of the founders themselves, which keeps team evidence at verifiable-but-unproven rather than differentiated. \[[s3](#profile-analysis-sources), [s14](#profile-analysis-sources), [s15](#profile-analysis-sources)\]

### Trust Readiness

Akto's Trust Vault portal publicly lists SOC 2, HIPAA, GDPR, ISO 27001:2022, ISO 27017:2015, ISO 27018:2019, and ISO 27701:2019 in its compliance section. Its resources list names a SOC 2 Type 2 report and a pentest report, and Akto gates the downloads behind an access request. The homepage displays matching SOC2, HIPAA, GDPR, and ISO compliance badges.

The product itself leans into compliance positioning: pricing-page features include audit-ready records mapped to frameworks such as the EU AI Act, OWASP, and MITRE ATLAS, and the endpoint controls deploy through corporate device-management tools, a distribution path that presumes enterprise IT governance. \[[s13](#profile-analysis-sources), [s20](#profile-analysis-sources)\]

### Competitors

| Company | Relationship | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Pynt | competes with | API security testing vendor that CB Insights lists among Akto's competitors. |
| Noname Security | competes with | API security platform that VentureBeat named as one of Akto's main competitors in its 2022 seed coverage. |
| Traceable AI | competes with | API discovery and testing platform named alongside Noname Security in Akto's seed-round press coverage. |

## Strategy Deep Dive

A closer look at the company's product strategy, measuring how [defensible](https://zeltser.com/scoring-security-product-strategy) it is against market forces and examining the [eight areas](https://zeltser.com/security-product-creation-framework) behind it.

### Defensibility

**Exposed (12/21)**

Band guidance: pivot urgently. Analyzed 2026-09-10. Scope: whole company.

Akto sells enterprise security teams software they run themselves at usage-based prices its sales team quotes. The part of its product a rival would take longest to reproduce is the software that blocks prompt injection and data leaks as agents run. Its customers tune blocking rules for each AI agent and deploy Akto's software to employee devices, and a customer switching vendors would redo both. Its API test library is open source under the MIT license, so a buyer can inspect that code before buying. It has not disclosed a proprietary dataset or attack data pooled across customers. In June 2025 it shipped a security product for MCP, a protocol AI agents use to reach tools, so it is an early entrant in a new category. Model vendors could build the same protections into their own products.

| Dimension | Score | Rationale |
|---|---|---|
| Value Delivery | 1/3 | Akto delivers software the customer configures and runs, priced on usage through enterprise sales, the software-product level of delivery. No managed service or accountability-bearing human layer appears in the record. \[[s8](#deep-dive-sources), [s2](#deep-dive-sources)\] |
| Switching Cost | 2/3 | Guardrail policies tuned per agent, an endpoint rollout through device-management tools, and SIEM feeds mean a departing customer reabsorbs tuned policies and redeployment work, an exit expensive in effort rather than in consequence. \[[s22](#deep-dive-sources), [s10](#deep-dive-sources)\] |
| Compliance Moat | 1/3 | The SOC2, HIPAA, and ISO badges Akto displays are procurement table stakes a rival can also earn, and the EU AI Act mappings its product generates serve the customer's obligations, not an authorization Akto itself holds. \[[s13](#deep-dive-sources), [s20](#deep-dive-sources)\] |
| Problem Complexity | 3/3 | Real-time inline guardrail enforcement, context mapping of agents to the MCP servers, tools, and databases they touch, and automated red teaming are real-time systems work requiring specialized expertise, not a thin wrapper. \[[s2](#deep-dive-sources), [s8](#deep-dive-sources), [s21](#deep-dive-sources)\] |
| Buyer Profile | 2/3 | Akto sells to enterprise security teams and claims Fortune 1000 users, but the named logos in its served pages are technology firms rather than named regulated enterprises. Anonymous industry-labeled review snippets appear on the API security page, without a named regulated-enterprise or agent-security reference in the public record. \[[s1](#deep-dive-sources), [s5](#deep-dive-sources), [s9](#deep-dive-sources)\] |
| Layer | 2/3 | The guardrail proxy and endpoint shield sit between AI agents and the tools they call, more embedded than an out-of-band scanner, but removing them costs the customer coverage rather than breaking production systems. \[[s10](#deep-dive-sources), [s22](#deep-dive-sources)\] |
| Proprietary Data, Content, or IP | 1/3 | The API test corpus is open source under MIT, the agentic product documents a probe library whose licensing the record does not state, and no named non-public dataset or cross-customer telemetry asset appears in the fetched record. \[[s12](#deep-dive-sources), [s10](#deep-dive-sources)\] |

### Strategic Market Segmentation

Akto targets enterprise security teams and splits the market by where AI shows up. Akto Atlas addresses AI agents, MCP tools, and LLM use by employees on corporate devices, while Akto Argus addresses the AI agents and applications a company builds itself. The pricing page's navigation lists solutions for financial services, SaaS, healthcare, and the public sector, standard enterprise verticals rather than a niche focus.

The marketed segment runs ahead of the named one. The homepage claims Fortune 1000 security teams as users, but the customer logos in the about page's served HTML name Airmeet and Plivo. Larger customers may exist behind the aggregate claims, but none is verifiable from the public record. \[[s10](#deep-dive-sources), [s8](#deep-dive-sources), [s1](#deep-dive-sources), [s5](#deep-dive-sources)\]

### Product Capabilities & AI Advantages

The agentic platform runs from discovery through runtime protection. It inventories AI agents, MCP servers, and the tools they touch, maps each agent to the MCP servers, tools, and databases it connects to, red-teams agents automatically, and enforces guardrails inline. The advantage Akto claims is coverage of the agent attack surface, not a proprietary model or dataset.

Akto started as an open-source API security tool, and that engine remains a live product: API discovery, a test library with more than 1,000 tests, and CI/CD testing, published under the MIT license. Public code lets a buyer inspect at least the API-security testing codebase before any sales conversation.

A latent data advantage is plausible but unproven. Guardrails and discovery running across many customers could surface cross-customer patterns in agent and MCP abuse that no single tenant sees, but no cross-customer data asset appears in the public record yet. \[[s2](#deep-dive-sources), [s21](#deep-dive-sources), [s12](#deep-dive-sources), [s23](#deep-dive-sources), [s18](#deep-dive-sources), [s10](#deep-dive-sources)\]

### Sales Engagement & Go-to-Market

The visible motion is demo-led enterprise sales layered on open-source adoption. The site funnels visitors to demo bookings rather than self-serve purchase, pricing is quoted by sales, and the open-source API tool remains the low-friction entry point for practitioners.

Distribution partnerships announced in April 2026 with Langchain, Portkey, TrueFoundry, Arcade, and LiteLLM aim to place Akto's controls inside AI development stacks, a route into AI engineering teams' toolchains, though the announcements do not yet document shipped integrations. Award wins and analyst-guide mentions, which the company displays prominently, serve as its demand generation.

The proof layer lags the motion. No case study or independently corroborated agent-security reference appears in the public record, though the About page's AI-security customer wall names Airmeet and Plivo, and of the review ratings the company displays, the Gartner Peer Insights badge is labeled for its API protection product while the G2 badge names only Akto. \[[s8](#deep-dive-sources), [s4](#deep-dive-sources), [s19](#deep-dive-sources), [s6](#deep-dive-sources), [s2](#deep-dive-sources)\]

### Pricing Model

Akto publishes no prices. The pricing page describes usage-based enterprise pricing and routes both product lines to a sales conversation, a structure aimed at negotiated deals rather than credit-card purchases.

The implied charging unit tracks the problem's own unit. The page describes continuous risk assessment per asset and context mapping of each agent to its connected MCP servers, tools, and databases, which suggests a price that scales with the AI estate being governed, though Akto does not publish the exact meter. \[[s8](#deep-dive-sources), [s21](#deep-dive-sources)\]

### Product Delivery & Operations

Akto markets cloud and self-hosted deployment, and it maintains an open-source API security engine teams can run themselves. Self-hosting matters in this category because agent and prompt traffic is exactly the data many enterprises refuse to send to a vendor cloud.

Endpoint deployment rides existing IT machinery: the endpoint shield deploys through device-management tools such as Intune, NinjaOne, and Automox, and findings feed the customer's SIEM. That choice presumes mature IT operations, consistent with the enterprise target. \[[s8](#deep-dive-sources), [s22](#deep-dive-sources), [s10](#deep-dive-sources)\]

### Earning Customers' Trust

Akto's Trust Vault portal publicly lists SOC 2, HIPAA, GDPR, ISO 27001:2022, ISO 27017:2015, ISO 27018:2019, and ISO 27701:2019 in its compliance section. The homepage displays matching SOC2, HIPAA, GDPR, and ISO compliance badges.

The product doubles as a compliance instrument for its buyers, with audit-ready records mapped to frameworks such as the EU AI Act, OWASP, and MITRE ATLAS. Those mappings serve the customer's obligations rather than constituting an authorization Akto itself holds. \[[s13](#deep-dive-sources), [s20](#deep-dive-sources)\]

### Platform Strategy & Ecosystem Positioning

Akto positions itself as a control layer over other vendors' AI infrastructure. Documented integrations span the MCP registry, CI/CD pipelines, Splunk SIEM, Jira, and ServiceNow, and the April 2026 partnerships with Langchain, Portkey, TrueFoundry, Arcade, and LiteLLM announce plans to embed its security checks where agents are built.

The dependency cuts both ways. Akto stays relevant while the MCP ecosystem remains open. If the protocol's official registry absorbs authentication and server vetting, or if model vendors ship equivalent governance natively, the gap Akto fills narrows. Its own displayed Gartner mentions in two different guides, API protection in 2024 and securing AI agents in 2025, show how quickly the ground it stands on is being redrawn. \[[s10](#deep-dive-sources), [s4](#deep-dive-sources), [s6](#deep-dive-sources), [s9](#deep-dive-sources)\]

### Team & Execution Capability

Co-founders Ankita Gupta, the CEO, and Ankush Jain, the CTO, have run the company since 2022 and remain its public faces. Their cap table carries named security and product operators, lead investor Accel India plus angels Akshay Kothari of Notion, Renaud Deraison of Tenable, and Milin Desai of Sentry, which is meaningful validation for founders with no prior exits in the cited record.

Beyond the two founders, the public record names no executive team, and the one public headcount signal is a 10 to 49 employee range on its awards-entry listing, so go-to-market leadership, engineering leadership, and precise headcount remain unverifiable from public sources. \[[s3](#deep-dive-sources), [s15](#deep-dive-sources), [s14](#deep-dive-sources), [s19](#deep-dive-sources)\]

## Sources

### Company Detail Sources

Cited from the Sourced Details and Matrix Coverage rows.

| Id | Source | Tier | Accessed |
|---|---|---|---|
| f1 | [Akto homepage](https://www.akto.io/) | official | 2026-07-03 |
| f2 | [CB Insights: Akto company profile](https://www.cbinsights.com/company/akto-1) | research | 2026-07-03 |
| f3 | [AI Defense Matrix Catalog: Akto](https://catalog.aidefensematrix.com/products/akto) | research | 2026-07-03 |
| f4 | [Akto API Security Platform page](https://www.akto.io/api-security) | official | 2026-07-03 |

### Profile Analysis Sources

Cited from the Market Readiness section.

| Id | Source | Tier | Accessed |
|---|---|---|---|
| s1 | [Akto homepage (Fortune 1000 usage claim)](https://www.akto.io/) “Akto is the trusted AI Agent Security Platform by Fortune 1000 security teams.” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s2 | [Akto homepage, platform overview, displays G2 4.8 (24+) and Gartner Peer Insights 4.5 (45+) badges, the latter labeled Akto API Protection](https://www.akto.io/) “Akto maps every AI agent and MCP tool, gives visibility, runs continuous red teaming, and enforces guardrails at scale.” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s3 | [Akto about page, leadership and popular features list (MCP Proxy)](https://www.akto.io/about) “Ankush Jain Co-Founder & CTO Ankita Gupta Co-Founder & CEO” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s4 | [Akto about page news timeline (MCP Security launch June 6, 2025, AI Agent Security Platform launch September 26, 2025, partnerships April 23, 2026)](https://www.akto.io/about) “Akto Announces Partnerships with Langchain, Portkey, TrueFoundry, Arcade, and LiteLLM to expand AI Agent Security across your AI tech stack.” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s5 | [Akto about page, The Enterprises Trusting Akto logo carousel, customer names Airmeet and Plivo appear as image data attributes in the served HTML](https://www.akto.io/about) “Airmeet_Anti_Logo_Reverse_Logo” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s6 | [Akto about page, analyst recognition blurb](https://www.akto.io/about) “Akto is listed as a Representative Vendor in Gartner's 2025 Guide for Securing AI Agents, alongside the vendors defining how enterprises secure agentic AI systems.” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s7 | [Akto about page, State of Agentic AI Security 2026 survey blurb (vendor-run survey)](https://www.akto.io/about) “The State of Agentic AI Security 2026 survey reveals a critical disconnect: 69% of enterprises are deploying AI agents, but only 21% have full inventory of their agents.” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s8 | [Akto pricing page (Cloud and Self Hosted plans, contact-sales motion, navigation lists financial services, SaaS, healthcare, public sector solutions)](https://www.akto.io/pricing) “Akto offers usage based Enterprise-grade pricing for Modern AI Security Teams.” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s9 | [Akto API Security Platform page (displays 2024 Gartner Market Guide for API Protection Representative Vendor mention)](https://www.akto.io/api-security) “Akto named as Representative Vendor in 2024 Gartner Market Guide for API Protection Akto builds the world's first plug-n-play API security platform.” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s10 | [Akto agentic AI docs: Atlas for employee endpoints, Argus for homegrown AI, red teaming, guardrails, MCP registry, Splunk SIEM, Jira, ServiceNow](https://ai-security-docs.akto.io/) “Akto Atlas: Agentic AI Security for Employee Endpoints” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s11 | [Akto MCP security page (vendor-cited statistics, unattributed)](https://www.akto.io/mcp-security) “82% of analyzed MCP server implementations are vulnerable to path traversal attacks.” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s12 | [GitHub API, akto-api-security/akto repository (MIT license, created January 31, 2023)](https://api.github.com/repos/akto-api-security/akto) “Proactive, Open source API security, API discovery, API Security Posture, Testing in CI/CD, Test Library with 1000+ Tests, Add custom tests, Sensitive data exposure” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s13 | [Akto Trust Vault portal, browser-rendered, public compliance list, downloads behind Get Access, SOC 2 file Akto_Io__Inc._SOC_2_Type_2_Report_2025.pdf](https://trust.akto.io/) “HIPAA SOC 2 GDPR ISO 27001:2022 ISO 27017:2015 ISO 27018:2019 ISO 27701:2019” | official | 2026-07-08 |
| s14 | [Forbes: Akto Promises To Protect The World's APIs From Cyber Attackers (David Prosser, November 3, 2022, quotes co-founders Gupta and Jain)](https://www.forbes.com/sites/davidprosser/2022/11/03/akto-promises-to-protect-the-worlds-apis-from-cyber-attackers/) “The $4.5 million is coming from Accel India, which is leading the round, as well as a group of angel investors, and is earmarked for further product development, as well as market outreach.” | press | 2026-07-03 |
| s15 | [TFiR: Akto Raises $4.5M In Seed Funding (November 2022)](https://tfir.io/akto-raises-4-5m-in-seed-funding-as-it-builds-plug-n-play-api-security-platform/) “a $4.5 million seed funding round led by Accel India with participation from angel investors Akshay Kothari (co-founder and COO of Notion), Renaud Deraison (co-founder Tenable) and Milin Desai (CEO of Sentry), among others.” | press | 2026-07-03 |
| s16 | [VentureBeat: Akto raises $4.5M in funding (Tim Keary, November 3, 2022, names Noname Security and Traceable AI as key competitors)](https://venturebeat.com/security/api-security-devsecops/) “Cybersecurity provider Akto, which today announced raising $4.5 million in seed funding, aims to mitigate these cyberthreats by providing organizations with a platform to create a real-time inventory of APIs to secure the entire DevSecOps pipeline.” | press | 2026-07-03 |
| s17 | [CB Insights: Akto company profile (Series A stage, last raised $7M, founded 2022, San Francisco, competitors include Pynt)](https://www.cbinsights.com/company/akto-1) “Akto raised a total of $11.5M.” | research | 2026-07-03 |
| s18 | [AppSec Santa: Akto Review 2026 (Suphi Cankurt, updated May 19, 2026)](https://appsecsanta.com/akto) “Akto shipped one of the first dedicated MCP security solutions in June 2025 and launched the full Agentic Security Platform in September 2025.” | research | 2026-07-03 |
| s19 | [The Hacker News Cybersecurity Stars Awards 2026 winner page for Akto](https://awards.thehackernews.com/winners/2026/akto-ai-agent-security-platform/) “2026 WINNER, CYBERSECURITY STARS AWARDS Akto, Agentic AI Security Platform Best Agentic Exposure Management Platform” | press | 2026-07-03 |
| s20 | [Akto pricing page, feature highlights (compliance mapping)](https://www.akto.io/pricing) “Audit-ready records mapped to compliance frameworks such as EU AI Act, OWASP, MITRE ATLAS etc” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s21 | [Akto pricing page, feature highlights (agent context mapping)](https://www.akto.io/pricing) “Context-maps each agent to the MCP servers, tools and databases it connects to” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s22 | [Akto homepage threat catalog (tool poisoning, line jumping, tool shadowing, prompt injection via tool output, broken authorization, rug pull attacks)](https://www.akto.io/) “Tool Poisoning Attackers compromise MCP-connected tools to manipulate agent behavior, extract context, or return malicious outputs.” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s23 | [GitHub API, akto-api-security/akto license object and activity (pushed_at July 2, 2026)](https://api.github.com/repos/akto-api-security/akto) “MIT License” | official | 2026-07-03 |

### Deep-Dive Sources

Cited from the Strategy Deep Dive section.

| Id | Source | Tier | Accessed |
|---|---|---|---|
| s1 | [Akto homepage (Fortune 1000 usage claim)](https://www.akto.io/) “Akto is the trusted AI Agent Security Platform by Fortune 1000 security teams.” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s2 | [Akto homepage, platform overview, displays G2 4.8 (24+) and Gartner Peer Insights 4.5 (45+) badges, the latter labeled Akto API Protection](https://www.akto.io/) “Akto maps every AI agent and MCP tool, gives visibility, runs continuous red teaming, and enforces guardrails at scale.” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s3 | [Akto about page, leadership and popular features list (MCP Proxy)](https://www.akto.io/about) “Ankush Jain Co-Founder & CTO Ankita Gupta Co-Founder & CEO” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s4 | [Akto about page news timeline (MCP Security launch June 6, 2025, AI Agent Security Platform launch September 26, 2025, partnerships April 23, 2026)](https://www.akto.io/about) “Akto Announces Partnerships with Langchain, Portkey, TrueFoundry, Arcade, and LiteLLM to expand AI Agent Security across your AI tech stack.” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s5 | [Akto about page, The Enterprises Trusting Akto logo carousel, customer names Airmeet and Plivo appear as image data attributes in the served HTML](https://www.akto.io/about) “Airmeet_Anti_Logo_Reverse_Logo” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s6 | [Akto about page, analyst recognition blurb](https://www.akto.io/about) “Akto is listed as a Representative Vendor in Gartner's 2025 Guide for Securing AI Agents, alongside the vendors defining how enterprises secure agentic AI systems.” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s7 | [Akto about page, State of Agentic AI Security 2026 survey blurb (vendor-run survey)](https://www.akto.io/about) “The State of Agentic AI Security 2026 survey reveals a critical disconnect: 69% of enterprises are deploying AI agents, but only 21% have full inventory of their agents.” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s8 | [Akto pricing page (Cloud and Self Hosted plans, contact-sales motion, navigation lists financial services, SaaS, healthcare, public sector solutions)](https://www.akto.io/pricing) “Akto offers usage based Enterprise-grade pricing for Modern AI Security Teams.” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s9 | [Akto API Security Platform page (displays 2024 Gartner Market Guide for API Protection Representative Vendor mention)](https://www.akto.io/api-security) “Akto named as Representative Vendor in 2024 Gartner Market Guide for API Protection Akto builds the world's first plug-n-play API security platform.” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s10 | [Akto agentic AI docs: Atlas for employee endpoints, Argus for homegrown AI, red teaming, guardrails, MCP registry, Splunk SIEM, Jira, ServiceNow](https://ai-security-docs.akto.io/) “Akto Atlas: Agentic AI Security for Employee Endpoints” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s11 | [Akto MCP security page (vendor-cited statistics, unattributed)](https://www.akto.io/mcp-security) “82% of analyzed MCP server implementations are vulnerable to path traversal attacks.” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s12 | [GitHub API, akto-api-security/akto repository (MIT license, created January 31, 2023)](https://api.github.com/repos/akto-api-security/akto) “Proactive, Open source API security, API discovery, API Security Posture, Testing in CI/CD, Test Library with 1000+ Tests, Add custom tests, Sensitive data exposure” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s13 | [Akto Trust Vault portal, browser-rendered, public compliance list, downloads behind Get Access, SOC 2 file Akto_Io__Inc._SOC_2_Type_2_Report_2025.pdf](https://trust.akto.io/) “HIPAA SOC 2 GDPR ISO 27001:2022 ISO 27017:2015 ISO 27018:2019 ISO 27701:2019” | official | 2026-07-08 |
| s14 | [Forbes: Akto Promises To Protect The World's APIs From Cyber Attackers (David Prosser, November 3, 2022, quotes co-founders Gupta and Jain)](https://www.forbes.com/sites/davidprosser/2022/11/03/akto-promises-to-protect-the-worlds-apis-from-cyber-attackers/) “The $4.5 million is coming from Accel India, which is leading the round, as well as a group of angel investors, and is earmarked for further product development, as well as market outreach.” | press | 2026-07-03 |
| s15 | [TFiR: Akto Raises $4.5M In Seed Funding (November 2022)](https://tfir.io/akto-raises-4-5m-in-seed-funding-as-it-builds-plug-n-play-api-security-platform/) “a $4.5 million seed funding round led by Accel India with participation from angel investors Akshay Kothari (co-founder and COO of Notion), Renaud Deraison (co-founder Tenable) and Milin Desai (CEO of Sentry), among others.” | press | 2026-07-03 |
| s16 | [VentureBeat: Akto raises $4.5M in funding (Tim Keary, November 3, 2022, names Noname Security and Traceable AI as key competitors)](https://venturebeat.com/security/api-security-devsecops/) “Cybersecurity provider Akto, which today announced raising $4.5 million in seed funding, aims to mitigate these cyberthreats by providing organizations with a platform to create a real-time inventory of APIs to secure the entire DevSecOps pipeline.” | press | 2026-07-03 |
| s17 | [CB Insights: Akto company profile (Series A stage, last raised $7M, founded 2022, San Francisco, competitors include Pynt)](https://www.cbinsights.com/company/akto-1) “Akto raised a total of $11.5M.” | research | 2026-07-03 |
| s18 | [AppSec Santa: Akto Review 2026 (Suphi Cankurt, updated May 19, 2026)](https://appsecsanta.com/akto) “Akto shipped one of the first dedicated MCP security solutions in June 2025 and launched the full Agentic Security Platform in September 2025.” | research | 2026-07-03 |
| s19 | [The Hacker News Cybersecurity Stars Awards 2026 winner page for Akto](https://awards.thehackernews.com/winners/2026/akto-ai-agent-security-platform/) “2026 WINNER, CYBERSECURITY STARS AWARDS Akto, Agentic AI Security Platform Best Agentic Exposure Management Platform” | press | 2026-07-03 |
| s20 | [Akto pricing page, feature highlights (compliance mapping)](https://www.akto.io/pricing) “Audit-ready records mapped to compliance frameworks such as EU AI Act, OWASP, MITRE ATLAS etc” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s21 | [Akto pricing page, feature highlights (agent context mapping, continuous risk assessment per asset)](https://www.akto.io/pricing) “Context-maps each agent to the MCP servers, tools and databases it connects to” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s22 | [Akto pricing page, feature highlights (endpoint deployment and SIEM feed)](https://www.akto.io/pricing) “Deploy Akto Endpoint Shield via MDM tools such as Intune, NinjaOne, Automox and more” | official | 2026-07-03 |
| s23 | [GitHub API, akto-api-security/akto license object and activity (pushed_at July 2, 2026)](https://api.github.com/repos/akto-api-security/akto) “MIT License” | official | 2026-07-03 |

## Disclaimer

This site is an experimental research aid created by Zeltser Security Corp. All its data gathering and analysis was performed autonomously without human review, and it can contain errors of fact, interpretation, and judgment that a human reviewer might catch.

The analyses are statements of opinion, not statements of fact. Machine analysis produced the scores, summaries, and matrix placements by weighing the public sources each page cites, and reasonable people can weigh the same sources differently. Where a page states a fact, it cites the public source and the date it was checked, and the statement is only as accurate as that source. Unless a profile expressly says otherwise, the analysis involves no hands-on testing and no independent validation of any company's products or services.

Nothing here is professional, security, legal, financial, investment, or purchasing advice, and nothing here is a recommendation to invest in, do business with, or avoid any company. Inclusion of a company is not an endorsement, and absence of a company is not a judgment about it. Reading this site creates no advisory or client relationship. Verify any detail you plan to act on against the vendor's current materials.

The content is provided "as is" and "as available," with all warranties disclaimed, express or implied, including merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, accuracy, and non-infringement. No entry is warranted to be complete, current, or correct. Companies change, vendors update their claims, sources can be wrong, and automated analysis can misread them.

To the fullest extent permitted by law, the operator, Zeltser Security Corp, is not liable for any damages that arise from using this site or relying on its content, including direct, indirect, incidental, special, and consequential damages and lost profits, even if advised that such damages were possible. If you are dissatisfied with the site or disagree with these terms, your remedy is to stop using it.

Entries link to vendor pages, press coverage, and other external sites that Zeltser Security Corp does not control and is not responsible for. A link is not an affiliation with the destination or an endorsement of it. Product and company names and trademarks are the property of their owners, used here nominatively to identify the companies described. Short quotations from cited sources appear for identification and commentary.

Use, quotation, automated retrieval, and redistribution of the content are governed by the Terms of Use at cybercompanyprofiles.com/terms, which permit personal and internal business use with attribution and prohibit republication and resale.
